How Long Does a Divorce Take in Utah? 


How Long Does a Divorce Take in Utah

An uncontested divorce in Utah requires an average of 3 months to complete. A contentious divorce, on the other hand, might take 9 months or longer, depending on the complexity of marital assets. Yet, even the fastest marriage termination won’t be shorter than 30 days which equals the divorce waiting period in Utah. Overall, the duration of your case is defined by the surrounding factors and divorce laws in Utah. Check out the peculiarities of the marriage termination process in your area and plan your divorce timeline accordingly.

How Long Does an Uncontested Divorce Take? 

An average uncontested divorce Utah lasts 3 months. This is the most beneficial option for a couple to end the failed marriage. They can come to a mutually comfortable agreement and bring the relationships officially to an end without much time and money wasted. But the option is only possible if you are ready to cooperate with your spouse and find a compromise on the main divorce and marriage-related issues.  

Contrastly if you experience any relationship hurdles such as domestic violence or have significant assets to split, getting a divorce in Utah in an amicable and simplified way may be a challenge for you.

How Long Does It Take To File a Divorce 

To start your divorce process, you need a general preparation at least. This implies you gather the necessary docs and agree on key divorce points with your partner. It can take from a couple of weeks to a couple of months depending on how much effort and time you are ready to invest. 

Even if you choose filing for a divorce in Utah without any contested issues, it is highly recommended to consult an attorney or any other relevant expert first. This will guarantee that all your decisions and solutions are equitable and grant you a happy future afterward. 

To file for divorce you need to get the necessary forms and complete them with your personal data. You can either use the Online Court Assistance Program and do all the job on your own following the guides from the official website, or you can choose any of the online divorce platforms offering assistance in your county. Then you will answer several questions and your forms will be ready and reviewed within several hours or a couple of days. Then the filing process implies you bringing your docs to the local clerk’s office and your divorce process begins immediately.  

How Long Does It Take to Process a Divorce 

Given that you and your spouse have reached an agreement when you file, there are a few procedures to go through before your marriage may be completed. The only point that prevents you from getting your divorce decree right on the spot is the mandatory waiting period for Utah divorcees. This means that you have to wait for a minimum 30 days after filing papers before you can become officially divorced.  

This period can be used to meet all the requirements for marriage termination and polish the agreement with your spouse. For example, divorcees with children have to attend divorce education classes and divorce orientation classes. They will help you to manage custodial rights and duties easier and guarantee the wellness of your kids after divorce. Plus, you should also meet relevant experts to consult on your decisions on property, custody, alimony, and other vital issues to ensure that you are on the right path to a happy life and your choices don’t break any legal rules. 

You should schedule the procedure to take two or three months in order to be successful because, in most cases, a month is not long enough to complete your divorce agreement and resolve ancillary concerns.

How Long Does It Take for a Divorce To Be Final 

For uncontested divorcees divorce process in Utah is as simple and fast as possible. If you have put enough effort and cooperated well with your partner, you won’t have any necessity to attend a hearing at divorce court to get a divorce decree. Your papers and the divorce agreement you have created with your spouse will be reviewed by the judge and the relevant conclusion will be made. If the officials approve your agreement as equitable and compliant with the local legislature, your marriage will be terminated and you will be announced divorced without any delay but not earlier than your waiting period comes to an end. 

Uncontested divorce in Utah can be a fast and optimized process if you commit well. Invest your time and efforts in preparation, cooperate with your partner to create a mutually beneficial agreement, and fill out your papers with accuracy to complete filing instantly. Exploit your waiting period for complying with the legal requirements and improving your agreement. Meet the relevant experts to be sure as to your decisions on divorce before it is finalized. Get your case reviewed and approved for termination without delay as a result of diligent work.  

Get Divorce Forms